Dissecting the Cowden Protocol

After several months of trying to treat late stage Lyme disease, I sought the wisdom of a naturopath who is experienced in treating Lyme. She recommended to me the Cowden Protocol, for she had found it to be quite helpful for her patients over the years.

I balked when I saw the cost of the full protocol, averaging about $500 a month. I decided I needed to do some research before I took the plunge. Below, you will find the fruits of my labor.

I decided that some products in the protocol may be useful and worth getting from Cowden’s company, Nutramedix. Some other products also seem useful but are easily available elsewhere for less money. And some are products for which I’m having trouble finding a use.

In making these choices, I consulted a licensed pharmacist who runs natural drug store and stocks the Nutramedix products included in Cowden’s protocol.

Many of these products have limited or no scientific research regarding their use or safety, so using them involves some experimentation and risk.

P.S. I know that some readers of this will disagree with my choices. People have a variety of philosophies about using alternative treatments. Some people are really into alternative medicine, and some people are unwilling to try much without substantial scientific evidence of its effectiveness. I personally am pretty open but try to be informed. You may think that I’m being too critical of Cowden’s protocol, or you may think I’m not being critical enough. I ask you to be kind if you choose to respond to this. Lymeland can get pretty nasty sometimes.

So here it goes….

ADRENAL –It is a fairly widespread belief that Lymies have weak adrenals. I don’t know if that is true or not, but there are tons of adrenal support supplements available if you think you need something. The herbs used in Cowden’s adrenal tincture are all pretty common and have a variety of uses. I don’t know nearly enough to know if this combination is especially helpful for adrenal fatigue.

  • Schizandra, Astragalus, and Ginseng are all used in traditional Chinese medicine, which is way over my head. Ginseng and Astragalus are in lots of supplements.
  • Rhododendron caucasicum is being touted online right now for weight loss and as a cure-all drug. It is rich in phytochemicals. It comes from the mountains of Georgia (the country) and is commonly used there as tea. It’s supposedly the reason that so many Georgians live past 100.
  • Wild Yam is a fairly common root and has a variety of traditional uses. (see http://www.altnature.com/gallery/wild_yam.htm)

AMANTILLA -This is just valerian root extract, which is quite popular for calming anxiety and as a sleep aid. The U.S. government has a fact sheet at http://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/valerian.asp I think it would make sense to be cautious about taking this if you’re already taking antidepressants, sleep aids, etc.

BANDEROL – I have found very little information on this, and Nutramedix hasn’t supplied a full species name. My guess is that they are using Otoba novogranatensis. I read here http://cat.inist.fr/?aModele=afficheN&cpsidt=14097602 that it’s shown some usefulness against parasites. I’m not trying it for now.

BURBUR – Cowden includes Burbur leaf extract in his protocol as a gentle detoxifier that is useful during herxes. He uses the leaves Desmodium molliculum. If you google Desmodium molliculum you’ll see that some sites sell it as Manayupa, but I can’t find much information about the species. There is a lot more information available about a sister species, Desmodium adscendens, and its various uses here http://www.rain-tree.com/amorseco.htm. I can’t figure out if there’s a significant difference between the two species. I’m guessing not. D. adscendens is available in bulk at Raintree’s website. Update: I have used this herb in a tea on and off for a while now.  It does seem to provide some soothing when I am having a die-off.  See more about Burbur in Henk’s comments below.

CUMANDA –Cumanda is only available from Nutramedix. It’s traditionally used as an antimalarial, among other things. Read more about it here http://www.rain-tree.com/campsiandra.htm. This site notes that its use for Lyme disease may all be hype. On the other hand, Lyme is often treated by drugs used for malaria like doxycycline or plequenil, so maybe using Cumanda isn’t totally ridiculous. I honestly don’t know. I am trying it.  Update: I tried Cumanda for several months.  I never got the sense that it made any significant difference for me.  See more about Cumanda in Henk’s comments below.

ENULA –Nutramedix markets Enula as an antimicrobial. I haven’t found anything that indicates that this tincture is anything unique. It consists of three ingredients; only the Elecampane seems useful.

  • Elecampane- This is very common and easy to find. It is a traditional cough medicine and is a good expectorant. It does have anti-microbial properties. Read more about it here http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/learn/elecampane.php
  • Vitis tiliafolia- It seems that this is known in Jamaica as Blood Wiss. I can’t find any information about its use.
  • Ipomoea jalapa -This mainly has been used traditionally to loosen stools.

MAGNESlUM MALATE – Magnesium can be gotten very cheaply, though supposedly some forms are less effective than others. I don’t know enough to know if the Nutramedix version is a good choice in terms of quality and cost. My pharmacist told me that magnesium aspertate is a good choice.

MORA- Mora seems to have been designed primarily as an antifungal agent. It has three ingredients.

PARSLEY- Parsley is believed to be good for detoxifying because it has lots of chlorophyll (see here http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/learn/parsley.php) Personally, I’m not sure why it’s worth spending $25.00 for it. You can get it fresh in the supermarket or even grow it yourself.

PINELLA – Nutramedix says that it uses the bark of Pimpinella anisum. It claims that it’s great for reducing inflammation and for detoxifying the brain and nervous system, which helps with brain fog (see http://www.bionatus.com/nutramedix/pdfs/Pinella_flyer.pdf). Pimpenella anisum is more commonly known as Anise. The anise seed is a common spice that has been used for millennia. I cannot find any other source that discusses using the bark of the plant, so it’s possible that the bark has some special properties different from the seed. No description that I’ve seen of the herb’s usage includes much about detoxification. The plant, however, has been used traditionally in some parts of the world as a mild stimulant. Perhaps this is why users feel more clearheaded when using Pinella.

QUINA- The main active ingredient in Quina is Quinine, which was an early antimalarial. The FDA put out a warning in 2006 about Quinine (see http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=78097) Apparently, misuse of quinine can cause some nasty side effects, including death, so please only use this product under your doctor’s supervision.

SAMENTO- This is more commonly known as Cat’s Claw, and research has shown that it’s effective for Lyme disease. Cheaper varieties are easy to find, but my pharmacist said that Nutramedix is a good source.  Update: I’ve learned a lot more about Cat’s Claw since I originally wrote this.  Nutramedix sells a form of the herb that is supposedly superior because it is “TOA free.”  Apparently the claims of superiority of TOA free Cat’s Claw are based upon two rather poorly designed research studies that were done by the company that has a patent on TOA-free Clat’s Claw.  Buhner, the author of Healing Lyme says that it is best to use the whole herb.  He recommends using Cat’s Claw from Rain Tree.  You can read more about the TOA controversy here http://www.rain-tree.com/toa-poa-article.htm

SERRAPEPTASE- It seems that some research has shown that this is good at breaking down dead tissue, and it’s included in the Cowden protocol because of a theory that it can break down the cyst form of Lyme. I get the impression that this is all pretty hypothetical, but perhaps not totally farfetched. I’m giving it a try using the Nutramedix version.  Update: I tried it.  I can’t tell if it did anything.  I’m really rather dubious about this product.  Wikipedia currently says that there’s no evidence that this product does anything.

SPARGA- This is asparagus root. I have not found anything that says that asparagus has any medicinal use beyond making your urine smell kind of interesting. Update: With more research I found the following.  Here is some information on medicinal uses for asparagus http://earthnotes.tripod.com/asparagus.htm Nutramedix claims that asparagus is good for detoxing sulfur.   Some people <i>do</i> smell sulfur in their urine after consuming asparagus, but the smell is coming from compounds in the asparagus.  (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asparagus#Urine)  There may be a variety of benefits to asparagus, but it might make more sense to just eat the whole vegetable.

TRACE MINERALS- The trace mineral blend from Nutramedix is a proprietary blend of 70 minerals and has been infused with calming energies (see http://www.bionatus.com/nutramedix/pdfs/tracemin_flyer_Bs.pdf) Nutramedix claims that the minerals are in a form that is more easily absorbed by the body. Personally, I’m not sure it’s worth the $60 a month that it will cost if used as directed by the Cowden protocol. Most good multivitamins include trace minerals.

ZEOLITE- This is used for heavy metal chelation. I don’t know enough to comment on its usefulness. Chelation, however, should really only be done under the supervision of a qualified health practitioner.

46 Responses to “Dissecting the Cowden Protocol”

  1. meri puccio Says:

    hello, very intensive research. i had lyme, babesia, erhlichia and went on antibiotics — never felt fully recovered. had many symptoms. took burbur, enula, samento, cumanda and parsley for 3 months and feel so incredibly better. i know it’s expensive but it did work for me…. everyone is different, though.

    good luck and thank you for this informative post.

  2. henk de hondt Says:

    Certainly you did a good research and it is refreshing to find someone in Lymeland who can use his own (fogged or not) brains!
    Pinella indeeed is the commun herb PIMpinella anisum. It is a small plant about 25cm high, from the family UMbellifera, and believe me it has no bark at all.
    greetings henk

  3. henk de hondt Says:

    I read somehing about Burbur detox. The Journal voor Ethnobiology en Ethnomedicine (nov 1987) published a studie about the therapheutical ceffects of Desmodium mollicum. No results are known, except one: A group of Peruvian indians using it as anti-infectant.
    I asked the world famous biologist and expert on the flora of the Amazon rainforest, mr. Marc van Roosmalen what he knew about Cumanda(Campsiandra angustifolia and he answered me: (quote)
    Dear Henk,
    sorry for the delay in responding to your inquiry. I have no records of indigenous peoples in the Amazon using Campsiandra angustifolia, nor the bushland creoles and indians from the Guianas using C. comosa for medicinal purposes. I will do some more research and if so, I’ll get back to you soon. (unquote)
    I wonder where nutrimedix finds his information that seems so hard to find!
    friendly regards henk

  4. How to Get Six Pack Fast Says:

    Not that I’m totally impressed, but this is more than I expected for when I found a link on SU telling that the info is quite decent. Thanks.

  5. Considering Cowden Says:

    Thanks so much for accumulating all this research. I’m looking into the Cowden protocol and was wondering how much was really necessary. This definitely answers a lot of my questions.

    I’d also like to know if anyone has done this protocol while undergoing IV chelation treatments for heavy metals. I’m currently doing this and wondering if it can be done at the same time.

  6. Kate Says:

    Thanks for breaking this down and saving hours of doing the same myself. Your effort is greatly appreciated! I am concerned regarding how much money various practitioners/big pharma/nutriceutical companies are charging sick Lyme folks simply to line their pockets and pay for their new Lexus (or is that Lexi)…. whether it be for tinctures, pills, IVs etc. My goal is to find a reasonably priced, effective treatment…. for the majority of people. You sorted through what i’d seen when i first read the protocol’s treatment tinctures…. exotic names for some common herbs/minerals were available for less (red flag)…. and the protocol seems very shotgun. I will work on getting more detail and finding a more specific way per symptoms to use the tintures in treatment – assuming they are effective.

    Anyone notice that Artemisia (Wormwood) is not in the protocol. Anyone used it? I’m using it with Amox as i got a tick bite 3 weeks ago and had already guessed my Lyme was recurring after recent severe ankle injuries two months ago.

    Kate – a physician with Lyme.

  7. Karen Says:

    I have been on the protocol for about four months. I began to see a lot of improvement when I started on the cumanda and banderol. I got a six month supply free of charge. Nutramedix does provide one patient per doctor with six months of free Cowden protocol. Dr. Horowitz of the International Lyme Disease Institute has found it to be 70% effective. The newer version, the condensed protocol, is said to be more effective and easier to follow. The protocol does not work unless you drink at least 12 cups of water per day, and take the magnesium malate to be sure you have at least two bowel movements a day. Since antibiotics don’t work on long term lyme, I don’t see a problem with trying this protocol. Cowden believes mercury amalgams need to be removed as well.

  8. kathy Says:

    i am on week 2 of the condensed cowden, having mild herx, nothing major……..was just nice to find all the info in one place…thank you for your research, svaed time that’s for sure………….the cumunda and enula andmora come later in the condensed version and am slowly increasing banderol and amento, alos using zeolite every couple nights as ordered…………..i alos had it ordered from Dr h, after i discussed no more antibiotics, he was my second opinion and afterpicc lines, bicillin, mepron, biaxin bactrim the works.i decided enough is enough! he ordered it and i have paid for my ist kit butas a member of an online support group if you can get the leader to call nutrmedix they will supply you with a 6 month supply free, so i will be receiving my 2nd thru 6th box and they said then dr h like to repeat either the 4th or 6th, so that will be my 6th box, i am alos doing a program called ACT, sounds crazy and i’m the biggest skeptic, but have felt changes and many in the group have had significant improvemnet…..if i can go all natural….and anyone else can benefit, i wish us all the journey back to health!!

  9. Sue Sullivan Says:

    Dear Jarla~

    Thank you for taking the time to dissect the Cowden Protocol, post all your findings, links and set up this blog! I am so grateful for people like you! It was recommended to me to try the Cowden Protocol after being on several antibiotics via injection and taken orally, along with Plaquenil and almost as many supplements as the protocol requires for nine months and STILL symptomatic. This Lyme thing has been such a nightmare and I must say the treatment has been worse than the disease! With so many uncertainties, controversy and expense involving the treatment…I have literally gone bankrupt, am in danger of losing my home of 22 years, the Cowden protocol looks like ANOTHER very expensive avenue that I cannot afford right now. So I m out here lost in the Lymelands, without a doctor, broke, unemployed and still very symptomatic. I took myself off everything in Nov because i just couldn’t swallow another pill. I KNOW that I need to something but not sure if this protocol is for me or even worth the expense. I have read a lot about several of the herbs and their properties but am wondering if it’s necessary to take ALL and I am way to foggy to even comprehend the protocol. Wondering where Dr. Kate s located? Thank you for listening to me ramble :-} And thank you for all your work~
    Sole Sister

  10. jodi Says:

    Thank you for all the research and for sharing your time knowledge with us all. I am on 4 different anitibiotics: ceftin, Zithro, plaquenil, rifampin. Also, am taking lots of supplements and a couple alternative remedies. I’m considering the CP.

    Question? I wonder if anyone on here can help Sue Sullivan get set up with 6 months of free Cowden. Sounds like she really could use it. Best of luck to you Sue. Keep trying!!!
    Jodi

  11. Sue Sullivan Says:

    Wishing you all the best Jodi with the CP, should you try it! Short;y after my rant, I read the book by Stephen Buhner, “Healing Lyme” I contacted a practitioner recommended by the author in VT..His name is Tim Scott. I have now been on the protocol recommended by Buhner through Tim for 3+ months and getting good results! My fog is lifting, my body feels less like a train wreck and I am experiencing more energy :-} Good Stuff!! Thank you for your wonderful plug for me…getting set up with 6 mos free of Cowden!! You are so very sweet :-} I think I will stick with what I’m doing now, as it is working! Now if someone wants to help save my house….well that’s another story….Sue Sullivan

  12. Peggy Says:

    I spoke with someone from Nutramedix yesterday. December, 2009, was the last month they offered the free six months protocol. The only thing they offer now is financial assistance in obtaining the program, but the applicant must complete the necessary paperwork and submit through a doctor’s office. Then it must be approved by Nutramedix. My understanding was that the applicant must show financial need.

  13. Lisa W. Says:

    Sue,
    I took have buhners book on lyme. He’s kind of vague about how much of the supplements to take. What dosages are you taking?

  14. Sue Sullivan Says:

    Lisa~
    I am taking a supplement called the “LB Core Protocol”… 3 capsules contain 500mg of Japanese Knotweed
    430 mg Andrographis
    500 mg. cat’s claw
    110 mg sarsaparilla root
    110 mg dandelion root

    Now here’s the thing…3 caps are minimum dosage…I am on max dose which is 12 capsules 4x a day, totals 48 caps. I don’t know how many mg of each herb that comes out to be… sorry but my brain cannot do the math!! I am also on 2 tinctures ( Eleuthero for immune~ 3 droppersful a day and Cryptolepsis for Babesia, also 3 droppersful.)

    It’s confusing…but I hope this was helpful to you Lisa. Good luck!
    Sue

  15. Joe B Says:

    Hey Lisa… visit these sites for Buhner info and dosage info…

    http://planetthrive.com/2009/08/herbal-protocol-buhner-healing-lyme/

    http://planetthrive.com/category/experts/buhner/

    http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/Lyme_Aid_Buhner/

    http://planetthrive.com/2009/08/buhner-healing-lyme-program/ dosage*

  16. kitty Says:

    asparagus does have medicinal qualities it was not difficult to find at all.maybe you should do a lot more research before you write that you can’t fiind anything on the net about it..on the first page, second link already!.
    Properties of Asparagus plant
    The vegetable contains phosphate and vitamin B, which gives it remineralizing and stimulating properties. Also, it has rare nutrients: copper, iron, zinc, manganese, chrome, calcium, sodium, potassium, which give it depurative, and laxative properties and make it a hepatic and renal drainer.
    Treatments:
    Next to its qualities of being a refined vegetable, asparagus is also used in natural medicine. It is used to control some stomach affections, clean the liver, lungs and intestines of their wastes and toxins. Apart from its depurative effects, the vegetable also has a protecting action on the arteries. Consumed regularly, it prevents the development of arteriosclerosis and cleans the blood.

  17. Ralph Says:

    Lost in lymeland for over three years, asparagus kitty….?
    Taken on it’s own..? guess i could try anything natural at this point…

    Currently taking amox 3000mg a day plus zithro…. feel like i have hit a leveling off point but still symptomatic, especially when tired or having eaten sugar/flour….
    Not sure what to do but realize cannot continue taking oral antibiotics…

  18. Donna Says:

    I have used Cowden’s herbs for about 2 years. I used a condensed version. The Banderol and Samento have been proven in a study to kill the cystic form of Lyme in vivo and in vitro. Google Townsend Report. They also come infused now and I have noticed the difference between the infused/imprinted vs, non.

    I have also met with Dr. Cowden for one of his studies and I did not get the impression in the least bit that the protocol was designed to line his pockets. His motivation is about the patient getting well.

    I have used Cumanda, Enula and Quina and alternated them. I do not know anything about Mora. I can tell you Enula does something because I took it for babesia, but if I reached a high enough threshold of it, I had severe bone pain. Many people have experienced this and I believe it is because Enula also kills parasites, something many of our LLMD’s do not treat and may be the key to wellness.

    Burbur has helped me through herxes and Pinella helped greatly with brain fog. I did not take Pinella for extended periods because I read there is a potential for toxicity. I also alternate at times between other supplements to help with herxes and for detox; ie: chlorella, pekana Drainage Kits.

    I have the trace minerals, but do not use all the time and if I have anxiety, I have used that and Amantilla with success.

    Perhaps the Enula is on lieu of wormword. Wormword, for extended periods can be toxic also.

    I encourage anyone who has questions to write Dr. Cowden himself.
    he can be located on Facebook.

  19. jeff the alternative renewable energy guy Says:

    what an informative post! my wife cindy has lyme (after a 12 year misdiagnosis of MS), and we are treating with colloidal silver and doug coil rife and al complex. just got started with bur bur for her herxes, and she feels better – her emotional tracking is much better.

    so here’s teh question: if you are making progress on a protocol, does it really make sense to add new ones? seems to me that this just increases die-off and herx intensity, and maybe just my sweetie’s suffering.

    comments?

  20. Kat Says:

    Thanks for the great post. I have been working with an ND who is Lyme literate and have been following the protocol that she dictates. I started with the colloidal silver to help treat the most pressing coinfection that surfaced. Then was put on glutathione to help with the detox and oxidative stress in the body. I then moved on to Quina and Enula and will soon start taking Mapalo instead of Enula. The latest coinfection results in joint point so the Mapalo should help. In addition to the above, I am taking different supplements (mostly to help with digestion and blood sugar issues) along with a good fiber product mixed with whey protein and a probiotic which has really helped with the herx reactions.

    The treatment has changed as the symptoms have changed and as new coinfections surface. Keep in mind that Lyme acts as an open door to coinfections which need to be treated to aid healing.

  21. Sarah Says:

    Does anyone know if Cowdens protocol can be taken with antibiotics and chelation? I am doing both with andrographis, cats claw, GSH/Nutritional ivs at my doctors office and want to try anything that might help.

  22. Michele Dickey Says:

    To Kitty. Before being so rude to someone who has done a lot of work and states that you can take it or leave it. You should have realized that her posting was over 2 years old when YOU were able to find the information! Did it ever enter your brain that things on the web change ridiculously fast and millions of things are added every single day.? Why were you even on here looking for information when you seem to think you know everything anyway!

  23. Norma Miller Says:

    I was wondering how much colloidal silver people are taking.
    Thanks

  24. Mariel Says:

    Hi Norma,
    I am in month 3 of the Cowden protocol and I take 1 tbsp 3 times per day of Argentyn 23 (colloidal silver). Good luck!

  25. Janet Says:

    to Donna and everyone else,
    Why on the Cowden herbs for so long? Isn’t the protocol supposed to work well before two years or am I misunderstanding it?
    I was on IM bicillin and now I am on 2 oral antibiotics (500 mg biaxin twice a day and plaquenil 200mg twice a day and many many many other supplements…I also take Samento, Banderol and Burbur 30 drops twice a day. Lately my ND put me on Mesosilver..I had asked about nano and colloidal.
    I have so many pills and tinctures…some need to be taken with food and some without anything in stomach by 3 hours. I am having much difficulty getting everything in! Any ideas?

    ALSO — I used to be a size 6/8 now I am over 200 pounds and still gaining no matter how little or how much I eat! I can’t express how uncomfortable I am in my body. Does anyone have some way to lose while Lyme is still active?????
    Jan

  26. cooley-hp Says:

    As a non-medical practitioner in Germany (hypnotherapist and phytotherapist), am working on my own protocol to deal with Lyme. There are less expensive herbal remedies (mistletoe tinture, echinacea tincture) but you ought to test them with the muscle test (=> psychokinesiology according to Klinghardt or Keding) to find out what is right for you. For instance, dipsaci sylvestra as a tincture can work well, supported by an enzyme, such as serrapeptase. Test how many drops of dipsaci and how long. For instance, if you take the Buhner protocol, add dipsaci and then test from that list what is good for you, add an enzyme to break down the cystic forms. You also need to build up your immune system! Stop taking antibiotics, only if absolutely necessary. Exercise, if possible. Sauna and sweating is also good to raise your body temperature (like a fever) and avoid stress. That is all easier said than done, I know. If you have the possibility, find a Native American healer – he/she will know how to proceed. Cooley-HP

  27. Christine Says:

    I begin the Cowden Protocol November 1. The instructions for the tinctures are unclear to me. Can one mix the tincture in the same cup of water, or must one use separate glasses of water for each and allow each to sit for 10 minutes before consuming?

  28. Roy Says:

    This has no research background done to it at all. This is impressive at all. This does nothing for anyone. You dont mention anything about serrapeptase breaking down fibrin so your immune system can more easily detect the disease to kill it as well with working in conjunction with the anti microbials. This is just a plain bad article with no back ground research done to it. this just gives a false impression and bad rep for the Cowden protocol. Which has tons of medical research in the homeopathical community. Just watch all the you tube videos describing each product. This just kills peoples faith in trying or using these products. which are great btw. horrible article.

  29. Roy Says:

    isn’t **

  30. diane Says:

    would like follow up comments on people who have been using Cowden protocol for longer than six months. Can it heal you of lyme forever?

  31. Roy Says:

    People in search of wisdom of lyme treatments and protocols. Please I urge you to not listen to anything that is written on this page thats in a negative tone about The Cowden Protocol. It is a great set up with extensive research done. It is safe and effective for most people with lyme. Although Not everyone responds the same way it is a great start to treating lyme without destroying your immune system. Just go on youtube and type in “Cowden protocol” Dr Cowden explains each of his products extensively HIMSELF. He tells you about how samento was used in an 18 week study and the patients were 90% improved by the 18th week. Just using that product alone. I have been on the protocol for a month now and im already seeing improvements all around with all my symptoms. And I have been on antibiotics for about a year without improvement. It destroyed my immune system and created a yeast problem. Now on this protocol Im seeing improvements. That has to mean something. Please I urge you to go do the research yourself instead of having someone dim wit that has no knowledge or experience of this protocol at all tell you how it is. GO WATCH THE YOUTUBE VIDEOS ON COWDEN PROTOCOL. Thanks for listening. Pass it on.
    God Bless.

  32. Karen Says:

    Thank you!

  33. Angela Says:

    I am currently on month 6 of the Cowden Protocol and based on discussions with my attending physician, I will repeat months 4-6 again.

    As to cost of the protocol, here’s my advice. Go directly to Nutrimedex to purchase it. http://www.nutramedix.com/.
    They offer the lowest price, free shipping, and you will earn points each time that you can redeem on your next purchase.

    Cowden Protocol Cost as of April 2012:

    Month 1 $259
    Month 2 $308
    Month 3 $368
    Month 4 $266
    Month 5 $302
    Month 6 $206

    The article is outdated and may be referring to the original protocol and not the Condensed version

  34. Marnie Says:

    I have been on Banderol/Burbur, Samento/Parsley, Serrapeptase and doxy for 6 weeks and am feeling better.

    I will have to check with my doctor for how long to stay on it. I too, am wondering if this ‘cures’ Lyme and if people who have done it do not relapse?

  35. Angela Says:

    I wanted to take doxy with Cowden but my Doctor told me that Dr. Lee Cowden advises against it. Bb morphs and forms biofilms able to evade antibiotics, and resurface after the abx have left the system.

  36. Karen Bergeron Says:

    Just wanted to say thanks for mentioning my web site for information about Wild Yam. (altnature) Wish you had emailed me to tell me about your blog, but I found it looking up back links and so glad I did. Have friends who need this information and I like your writing style.

  37. kayjay Says:

    More than likely the Plum people have a antidote for the multi-infectious disaster they concocted.
    I tried APEX and it helped and I am not kidding.Did it cure it? I don’t know, as the jerks have no good testing as yet.
    Oh yeah I am po’ed…Real pissed off.

  38. Learn Us Says:

    We stumbled over here different web page and thought I might check
    things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

  39. Slim Boom Says:

    I just use banderol and cats claw and have seen amazing results.

  40. Loni Says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks for posting. My mom has had lyme for more than 20 years and I ordered the first month of Cowden for her which she started taking recently but has had severe reaction to almost every dose (from day 6 on). So I’m wondering whether she should continue at all (she’s fealling very bad, with cramps and pain). Did anyone reading this have any similar experience in the beginning? How did you get through it?

  41. Loni Says:

    P.S. I do suspect it’s Herx. I just don’t know whether to continue the protocol (and seeing my mom in pain) or not and how (if possible) to continue the protocol without pain.

  42. Angela Says:

    Did her Dr. explain what is to be expected while on the Cowden Protocol?

    The herx is a good thing because the bacteria are dying off – but if the pain is too great you are supposed to cut back on the dosage and increase the dextox every 3-4 hours until the pain subsides. This is the first thing one should be informed of before using this protocol. I am on it and my herxs have always been mild, relativily speaking.

    Go to this link for more information. http://www.nutramedix.ec/ns/lyme-protocol

  43. editorial wedding photography Says:

    Some filters can even change the colors of the pictures altogether,
    inverting the colors or washing everything in shades
    of gray. Regardless of the conditions, the wedding photographer should be prepared to handle almost any condition.
    Today, brides and grooms interested in infusing some of the distinctive fashion to your wedding photos.

  44. Ellen Says:

    I’ve had Lyme since the late 90s w/diagnosis in 2004. Did high dose antibiotics route for a year. Terrible herxes and started backsliding at the end. Did the Marshall Protocol for 5 years (really helped & much more tolerable herxing). Since 2010 been focused on nutrition and detox. Some relapse periods where I took minocycline for a few days. Started noticing some symptoms in September and doc suggested Cumanda–5 drops to start. Always leery, I tried just 1 drop. Took it at the same time I took my Bolouke dose. Wasn’t aware of Boluouke’s ability to dissolve biofilms until a internet search after the fact. POW! What a potent combo. Had myself quite a brain herx that night, and didn’t feel so hot for a few days, but afterward more clear-headed than I’d been in a long time. Amazing.

  45. Elise G. Says:

    Hello, everyone! You all seem to be quite knowledgeable with the protocol.

    Quick question– I recently started the first portion of the Cowden, and within a couple days of taking the pinella + burbur I believe I had a herx reaction– the biggest symptom having a lot of anxiety when I have no history of it.

    I gave myself a 2-day break, then took just 2 drops of Burbur, and boom- same thing happened!

    Any ideas of what could cause this? I’ve been drinking TONS of water and trying to detox like crazy in other ways!

  46. Ingrid Naiman Says:

    Just finished reading this entire page and the comments. There are several remarks that I would like to make, starting perhaps with the simplest: wormwood. Kate references it and Donna comments. There is the Hulda Clark protocol that relies on Artemisia absinthium, which, as Donna notes, can be contraindicated for long-term use because of its high thujone content. The reason for mentioning this is that babesia is similar to malaria and the main herb in question would then be Artemisia annua which is very safe compared to A. absinthium. I.e., the argument does not hold up particularly well when the correct herb is considered.

    The comparable herb in the Cowden protocol would appear to be Quina, apparently an allusion to quinine which has been widely used in malaria treatment. In herbal medicine, especially South American herbal medicine, it would be derived from cinchona, sometimes called Jesuit’s bark. This is an herb with some undesirable side effects so it would have to be used cautiously.

    Here is the rub. As understanding of Lyme disease and the con-infections attending it increase, there will be possibilities for fine tuning the protocols and taking only what is needed, not everything that could possibly make a difference for someone or other. Also, over-reliance on a handful herbs suggests that the research was done hastily, perhaps a genuine urge to address an emergency, but malaria has been around for a long time and over 1200 herbs are referenced in traditional literature. Of these more than a hundred have been researched so we do not have to depend on Quina or A, annua, which, for the record, tends to manage the Herxheimer reactions quite well because of its complex chemistry.

    There is a lot more to consider, such as the quality of the raw materials, potency of the herbs, and individual need.

    As I read this page, I realized that most readers seem to be skipping over the advice about removing mercury amalgam fillings. Until this step is taken, there will be less than ideal responses to immune boosting herbs. This could explain why some people are doing better with colloidal silver than with herbs. However, essential oils have not been mentioned by anyone and they generally work even when the immune system is not working optimally.

    Without going on and on, we ought also to allow our minds to separate out the fungal infections that are due to use of antibiotics or destruction of white blood cells and bacteria that are necessary when there is die-off of parasites and microorganisms. Unless you understand your own starting point as well as treatments, you could be wasting effort on products that are not really indicated for own circumstances.

    Wishing you all a speedy and complete recovery.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

